poppy field


On the 22nd January 2020 The Annual Poppy Awards were held in Sudbury Snooker Club. 

It is a time to show our appreciation to all the wonderful people who give up their time to collect for this worthwhile cause. 

The night began with The Kohima and Exhortation, followed by prayers delivered by Cheryl. Sudbury Town Mayor, Robert Spivey presented the awards. 

Awards were presented this year to the following:

Branch Certificates of Appreciation:

Ormiston Sudbury Academy, Phoenix Group Marchers, Army Cadets, Aldi, Roys, Sainsburys, Tesco, Waitrose, CO-OP The Drift, Underwoods SPAR Garage, North Street Tavern, Bay Horse, Barrett Lee Shop.

For Services as Branch Standard Bearer:

David Brooks

For Services as Deputy Branch Standard Bearer:

Francis McKenna

5 Year Certificates:

Amanda Beck; Trevor Byham; Patricia Drawbridge; Robert Drawbridge; Carol Ruddock

Ten Year Certificates:

Ian Clarke; Adrian Osborne; Frank McKenna; John Mullan; Dionne Skews

15 Year Awards:

David Brooks

20 Year Awards:

Alan Brockbank; Bill Shirley

30 Year Awards:

Stuart Hume; Beverley Smith

40 Year Awards:

Pauline Bartrop

Special presentations were also given to our departing PAO Stuart Hume, who has coordinated the Poppy Appeal since 1991/92, raising in excess of: £720,446.28.

Presentations were given from the Town Hall, Suffolk County RBL and the Branch.

Many thanks to everyone who attended the evening and the kind donations from the local Sudbury businesses who donated prizes for the night. 

Anyone that is interested in helping in the Poppy Appeal should contact our NEW Poppy Appeal Coordinator: 

Aysha Bilgi, 07467032422, ayshabilgirbl@hotmail.com