Our History

Welcome to the Harlow Town Branch of The Royal British Legion

The Harlow Town Branch was officially registered with the Royal British Legion in May 1980 (although there are some suggestions it was formed in 1979), and the associated Club in 1981. Founding members were:-

Back Row: L to R - Len Pratt; Ron Hornsey; David Armstrong

Front Row: L to R - Bob Cherry; Albert Young; Ron Small; Tom Andrews

The first few meetings were held in Harlow Sports Centre. The Branch then moved to a room over the top of a mini gymnasium behind the cinema in Harlow Town Centre. From there we relocated to a community hall in Momples Road, near the Stow (currently the home of Harlow Amateur Boxing Club).

In 1982 we moved again, this time to a council owned building in Colt Hatch, Harlow. As we outgrew Colt Hatch the Branch/Club started looking for new premises. In 1998 the Branch took on the lease of the Radburn Pavilion in Commonside Road, where we are still situated today.

The premises formerly housed the changing rooms/shower facilities for local football teams that played on Harlow Common. Since taking on the lease the building has been extended and refurbished both inside and out.


Branch Presidents

1979 - 1984   Sir G Cooper

1984 - 1990   J Ball

1990 - 1998   Les Pearce

1998 - 1999   Len Pratt

1999 - 2000   Les Pearce

2000 - 2001   Dennis Lee

2001 - 0000   Les Pearce

2015 -2018   Charlie Smith

2018- 2020  Richard (Dick) Edser

2020 - Date   Charlie Smith



Search our Knowledge base

for answers

Get in touch Launch live chat

8am to 8pm, all week

Call our helpline 0808 802 8080

8am to 8pm, all week

Find us locally Pop in for a chat

10am to 4pm, weekdays